Pokemon Blue – Chapter 9: I Read the News Today, Oh Boy

Photobucket

Now that I kicked Team Rocket out of Saffron, I can access the gym.

Photobucket

Trainers here are impossible to make a profit off of, thus they are skipped.

PhotobucketPhotobucket

Guess what I’m thinking.

PhotobucketPhotobucket

That’s not what I was thinking of… 😦

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

That’s… that’s not what I was thinking of either D:

Photobucket

This took an absurd amount of luck. Like utterly ridiculous.

First off, her initial Kadabra had to use Psybeam twice, if it threw in a psychic, I was dead.

That’s not so bad, the trouble comes with the critical hit mechanics in R/B/Y

Basically, it’s based on the Pokémon’s speed. Kadabra and Alakazam are VERY fast Pokémon, so they scored critical hits probably 1 out of every 5 times. So not only did Kadabra have to open with 2 psybeams, I had to get lucky and NOT HAVE ANY CRITICAL HITS.

That is an absurd amount of luck involved.

I really should have saved Sabrina for after Blaine, but I was here and figured I might be able to. Though even if I had beat Blaine first, I doubt this would have gone smoothly at all anyway.

And you know what? This was still easier than Brock…

PhotobucketPhotobucket
PhotobucketPhotobucket

I think you worked plenty hard, but the luck of the die favoured me enough to win.

PhotobucketPhotobucket
PhotobucketPhotobucket

Traded only of course.

PhotobucketPhotobucket

Man, if Weedle disobeyed for being too high a level… D:

PhotobucketPhotobucket
PhotobucketPhotobucket

It’s crappy, mostly since its damage is unreliable. Basically it can do anywhere from half to 1.5 times the user’s level. So it CAN be slightly better than Night Shade or Seismic Toss, but it can also be worse. And also, like Night Shade and Seismic Toss it ignores weakness and resistance.

It’s also exceedingly rare outside of 1st generation, where it’s of course a TM. Only 14 Pokémon can learn it by level up in Generation 5 and oddly, none of them are from R/B/Y.

Photobucket

Anyway, we surfed south from Palette Town to get to Cinnabar Island.

Photobucket

The gym is locked, so we’ll have to check out the building we landed by.

Photobucket

Annoying dungeon. Have to hit the right switches in the right order, and without repels this is a HUGE pain.

Photobucket

I forgot to capture his intro dialogue, but whatever, it’s not anything special, he basically just says “Oh I’m powerful, better have brought burn heals”.

Blaine was actually pretty easy, mostly because his first Pokémon only has ember, so it’s fairly easy to buff against.

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

MONEY

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

That probably would have been useful against Sabrina, but whatever, what’s done is done.

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Fire Blast is mediocre IMO, it’s powerful but inaccurate, and I prefer the accurate Flamethrower over it.

Photobucket

Last off to Viridian.

Photobucket

Again, I forgot the intro dialogue. Also this is the same picture from the last update, he has 5 Pokémon in the gym fight.

This is what he says according to Bulbapedia:

“Fwahahaha! This is my hideout! I planned to resurrect Team Rocket here! But, you have caught me again! So be it! This time, I’m not holding back! Once more, you shall face Giovanni, the greatest trainer!”

Photobucket

I actually only had 2 poison stings to kill this guy with. Luckily I poisoned him with my first shot, otherwise I would’ve had to waste 40PP worth of String Shot… 😦

Photobucket

Ayup.

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

You know, Giovanni isn’t an asshole. Sure he’s trying to take over the world by stealing Pokémon and stuff, but he doesn’t even talk down to a kid. Maybe that’s why I like Team Rocket the best.

PhotobucketPhotobucket

MONEY

PhotobucketPhotobucket

Traded only of course, caught Pokémon will always obey.

PhotobucketPhotobucket

Wouldn’t that be the hall of fame?

PhotobucketPhotobucket

Indeed I can, so I shall head there soon.

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket
PhotobucketPhotobucket

Fissure’s actually really fun, especially if you spam X-Accuracys to make it hit reliably. >:)

PhotobucketPhotobucket

And with that, I head off to the Pokémon League.

It’s time.

Photobucket

But first.

Yeah, yeah, it’s cheating, maybe, but I’m not duping Rare Candies or anything like that. I just don’t have the money to be able to afford enough X-items and potions to beat the elite four. I don’t think so anyway.

It’s not even like this is going to remove the challenge from the game. I am still going to die many, many times.

Photobucket

I have a strange sense of déjà vu.

PhotobucketPhotobucket

Huh? You told me where you were going to be. If that wasn’t a challenge, then fuck you.

Photobucket

Duh.

PhotobucketPhotobucket

Yeah.

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Sure you will.

Photobucket

Yeah, again, his Pidgeot is crap and it’s easy to just buff up and sweep the rest of the team.

Photobucket
Photobucket

Careless enough to lose to a Weedle? I think you have to re-evaluate your strategy.

Photobucket

Money. Which I don’t need any more thanks to duping nuggets. Oh well.

Photobucket

Oh shit here we are.

Photobucket

VICTORY ROAD.

Photobucket

Oh, that was fast. I think every single trainer is skippable. Which is odd, considering it’s supposed to be the ultimate challenge.

Photobucket

Well, here we are.

Categories: Pokémon Blue, Zombie Playthroughs | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.