Pokemon Blue – Chapter 3: I Look at You All, See the Love There That’s Sleeping

Photobucket

Nope, can’t even do it at 25. I was close though, so I should only need 2 or 3 more levels.

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Just to give a little insight on how ineffective my grinding is. I need 1520 to get to level 28 and get 61 EXP at the MOST, from a level 6 Metapod.

It is very aggravating.

PhotobucketPhotobucket

Alright, SPARTACUS is now level 28. LET’S DO THIS. You’ll notice I have no String Shot PP left. This is because I got into a battle with a Metapod and spammed it over and over until it was out. Why? You’ll see.

Photobucket

Christ, I’ve spent 10 hours so far. In a regular game I’d probably be at Victory Road by now. FUCK.

Photobucket

Things are looking up. As a side note, apparently Brock only uses 3 or 4 Full Heals! Per pokemon D:

Photobucket

YOU HAVE NO IDEA HOW SATISFYING THIS IS. NO. FUCKING. IDEA.

Photobucket

I was all “FUCK YES” right here. Then he used a full heal. 😦

Photobucket

It did like 4 damage. I could only do like 2 to him PER POISON STING.

Photobucket

This. This is why I used up all my String Shot. SS is a pretty terrible move (it reduces enemy speed) and it has 40 PP. You need to be out of PP on EVERY move to use Struggle, which is a normal type in this, thus making a Magikarp/Caterpie run impossible (can’t hit ghosts, of course), though to be honest, Tackle is way wayyyy better than Poison Sting, though then again if I’m not fighting poison pokes (or this dickhole and his full heals) I can poison then stall the fuck out of the enemy. Struggle was taking off like 1/8th of Onix’ remaining health here. That’s how fucking terrible Poison Sting is.

PhotobucketPhotobucket

I actually knew that Onix would be easier than Geodude, because Onix lacks the Defence Curl that was making my life such a living hell.

Photobucket

🎉

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Blah blah.

PhotobucketPhotobucket

I can’t remember exactly what this does, but fuck me, I’ll take anything to make SPARTACUS even slightly stronger.

PhotobucketPhotobucket

Which I’m never gonna even get.

Photobucket

MONEY. SWEET DELICIOUS MONEY.

Okay, part of what made Brock such a bitch was a lack of funds on my part, I had 4 potions for his fight and no way to get any more. I might have won at level 20 if I had more potions. I blame myself for picking a fight with BLUE back in Viridian, but eh, what are you gonna do? Though at least this way I’m probably levelled enough to take down Misty, so eh. I’m probably so very very wrong here.

PhotobucketPhotobucket

Horray.

PhotobucketPhotobucket

Not Weedle though.

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Bide’s a shitty ass move anyway.

Photobucket

Just noting my playtime at this juncture. I abused my emulator’s speed key IMMENSELY while grinding, so some of that time is probably off because I held it too long and ran into walls and stuff for like 45 seconds, but it’s still a good indication of how FUCKING annoying Brock was.

Photobucket

Oh god it’s gonna get worse isn’t it?

Alright, I’m gonna talk a bit here. There’s no more progress left in the update, so if you don’t care about my long term strategy, feel free to just skip this text here.

Brock is almost definitely gonna be the biggest roadblock on my journey. The other things that will roadblock me are probably Pokemon Tower, Erika, Sabrina and Blaine.

The overall strategy will be very different than my regular solo game strategy. Instead of fighting every trainer I can, for experience, I’m probably gonna leave the grinding to wild pokemon so that I save money and resources. Don’t want to waste a potion when I can get a level off of wild pokemon, especially since I’m probably going to need tons for the Elite 4.

In Pokemon Tower I’ll be running out of PP constantly, because Ghosts are so resilient to poison and immune to the status effect (due to all of them in R/B/Y being part poison), which’ll be annoying, to say the least. I’ll probably cheese the Marowak fight with a Pokedoll (shh, exploiting oversights is a perfectly legitimate strategy), but Team Rocket will probably be a pain (why are poison types so goddamn common?!) D:

Erika will just be annoying due to most of her pokes being part poison. Nothing near as bad as Brock though methinks, since she’ll be pretty ineffective against me and I’ll at least be dealing neutral damage against her.

Sabrina will kill my poor Hairy Bug ass. Psychics are notoriously broken in Generation 1, and she has 3 of them, plus a Venomoth for some dumb reason. And they’re probably going to kill my poor Weedle in 1 or 2 shots. I basically need to bring that down to 3 shot KO before I can even try to spam X-Specials, so Sabrina will almost definitely be the last Gym Leader I take down.

Blaine’s something of the same story, but his lead pokemon only has Ember, so I should be able to take at least a few hits before having to heal, letting my X-Special strategy kick in.

The biggest problem I foresee against the Elite 4 is a major lack of PP. I’m almost definitely going to have to duplicate Ethers/Elixirs with Missigno. (shut up, abusing glitches is a perfectly legitimate strategy and you have NO IDEA how hard this run is going to be. NO IDEA)

Other than that, I think it’ll be fairly smooth. I’m almost 100% sure I’m wrong here.

Categories: Pokémon Blue, Zombie Playthroughs | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.